New Year – New Blog


image

Ok so after several, admittedly hit and miss, attemptes to start a blog I have decided that my new years resolution for 2015 is to actually make a bit of a go at this. Who knows someone may actually read it (other than me and my Mum obviously)

So what am I going to write about?

Well i really only know about 1 thing – swimming – so I guess I will start there.

The plan is to come at this from 2 sides. First of all from a coaching stand point chronicalling my thoughts as I attempt to guide a team of young aspiring athletes towards their goals, and secondly from the point of view of a swimming teacher who believes that swimming is at its very basic level a life skill that everyone has the right to learn.

I learnt to swim when my Mum took me to Templemore Ave baths when I was 5 (I sat on the side of the pool and didnt even get wet for 3 weeks!!). Im fairly sure she never imagined that there was such a thing as a career in swim coaching never mind that i would choose it as a career path!!

From those very tentative steps swimming gradually became an intricate part of my life and a passion that drives me ever forwards.

This has led me to now being the Head Coach of a reasonably sized club in Northern Ireland. This season we set out to restructure the junior end of the club and, while this is still a work in progress, it does seems to be showing promising signs of progress (i plan on this being the topic of my 1st ‘proper’ post). The next step in the evolution of the club is the age group and youth squads. I have some ideas that I hope will facilitate the transition of ‘talented’ junior swimmers into more senior athletes (something that in general in Ireland i believe we have struggled with).

Anyway, I hope someone somewhere reads these (and that I get better at writing them) but in the meantime i am going to go and enjoy the last few days of 2014.

till next time…..

Leave a Reply

